This morning I started taking my regular regimen of pills and hormone creams and powders and drops.  I have it down to a science and can do it in around ten minutes now. It dawned on me that the allopathic medications that I have been taking for several years – those given to me by my Western doctors – all have the purpose of preventing me from being sick. However the new medications that I am taking, prescribed by my new doctor, my Naturopath, are all being given to me with the purpose of making me well.

In fact, for the 6 weeks that I have been taking them, I have experienced jolts of increasing wellness from the first day that I took them, with days of sliding back into the old symptoms. As I communicated with my doctor the “bad days,” she called me in for an extra appointment to adjust the medications to cut down on the bad days and increase the good days.

It struck me that medicine is supposed to make us well rather than just prevent us from being sick.  It is true that I have both in my toolkit right now, and perhaps that will always be the case, but if I can, I would prefer to put into my body that which makes me well.

Meditation

I take my medications faithfully with the full intention of moving towards wellness and away from illness.